Bollywood Today

Bollywood Today

3 Idiots is Not an Idiot
at the 2010 Filmfare Awards

At a star studded 55th Filmfare Awards ceremony at the Yash Raj Studios in Mumbai on February 27, 2010, the night was filled with cheer, surprises and applause for the winners and even commiserations for the losers.

3 Idiots is Not an Idiot at the 2010 Filmfare AwardsThe awards ceremony, hosted by Shahrukh Khan and Saif Ali Khan, were laced with antics and humor.  “This time we will be poking fun at ourselves rather than the others,” said Sharukh Khan.

Performances included appearances from Katrina Kaif, who danced to “Yaar Nazar Nahi Ata” from her movie De Dana Dan; Salman Khan grooved on stage with moves to his hot song “Tera Hi Jalwa” from Wanted; Kareena Kapoor performed to her hits songs including “Zoobie Doobie,” “Bebo Main Bebo” and “Kambakht Ishq;” and Deepika Padukone swayed to her hit tracks “Uff Ter Ada” and “Aahun Aahun.”  Shahid Kapoor paid tribute to Michael Jackson during a sizzling performance.

3 Idiots got a series of awards, including Best Director for Rajkumar Hirani, Best Film, Best Story by Hirani and Abhijat Joshi, Best Screenplay by Hirani and Vidhu Vinod Chopra, and Best Dialogue.

Best Actor and Actress awards were won by Amitabh Bachchan and Vidya Balan for their performances in Paa.Best Actor and Actress awards were won by Amitabh Bachchan and Vidya Balan for their performances in Paa.  The Best Music award was given to A. R. Rahman for Delhi-6.  The Best Lyricist Award went to Irshad Kamil for “Aaj Din Chaddya” (Love Aaj Kal).  The Best Playback Singer (Female) Award went to Rekha Bharadwaj for “Genda Phool” in Delhi-6 and Kavita Seth for “Ik Taara” in Wake Up Sid.  The Best Playback Singer (Male) went to Mohit Chauhan for “Masakali” in Delhi-6. Best Sound Design and Best Editing went to Firaaq. The RD Burman Music Award was given to Amit Trivedi, and Best Costume Design was conferred on Firaaq.  The Best Cinematographer award went to Dev D, and the Best Action award was won by Wanted.

The Bacchans were missed, however, as they consciously skipped the ceremony as a mark of protest against the tabloid that reported false news about Aishwarya’s health.


Best Action:
Vijayan Master (Wanted)

Best Production Design & Art Direction:
Helen Jones, Sukanta Panigrahi (Dev D)

Best Background Score:
Amit Trivedi (Dev D)

Best Cinematography:
Rajeev Ravi (Dev D)

Best Visual Effects:
Govardhan Vigharan, Vinay Singh Chuphal (Kaminey)

Best Choreography:
Bosco-Caesar (“Chor Bazaari” – Love Aaj Kal)

Best Sound:
Manas Choudhary (Firaaq)

Best Editing:
Sreekar Prasad (Firaaq)

Best Costume Design:
Vaishali Menon (Firaaq)

Best Lyrics:
Irshad Kamil (“Ajj Din” – Love Aaj Kal)

RD Burman Award:
Amit Trivedi

Best Playback Singer (Female):
Kavita Seth (“Iktara” – Wake Up Sid) & Rekha Bhardwaj (“Genda Phool” – Delhi-6)

Best Playback Singer (Male):
Mohit Chauhan (“Masakali” – Delhi-6)

Best Music:
AR Rahman (Delhi-6)

Best Story:
Abhijat Joshi & Rajkumar Hirani (3 Idiots)

Best Screenplay:
Abhijat Joshi, Rajkumar Hirani & Vidhu Vinod Chopra (3 Idiots)

Best Dialogue:
Abhijat Joshi & Rajkumar Hirani (3 Idiots)

Best Debut (Female):
Zoya Akhtar (Luck By Chance)

Best Debut (Male):
Ayan Mukerji (Wake Up Sid)

Best Supporting Actor (Female):
Kalki Koechlin (Dev D)

Best Supporting Actor (Male):
Boman Irani (3 Idiots)

Lifetime Achievement Awards:
Khayyam & Shashi Kapoor

Best Film (Critics):

Best Actor Female (Critics):
Mahie Gill (Dev D)

Best Actor Male (Critics):
Ranbir Kapoor (consistently outstanding performances for Wake Up Sid, Ajab Prem Ki Ghazab Kahani & Rocket Singh: Salesman Of The Year)

Best Actor in a Leading Role (Female):
Vidya Balan (Paa)

Best Actor in a Leading Role (Male):
Amitabh Bachchan (Paa)

Best Director:
Rajkumar Hirani (3 Idiots)

Best Film:
3 Idiots

Share this;